Compulsive Gambling

thumbnail_large (19)

Previously the term addiction was only limited to substance and alcohol abuse. However, according to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual DSM, some behaviors pass the criteria to be labelled addiction. That is, behavioral addiction.

For example, some people could become addicted to gambling, internet, sex, sugar, television and food.

People with a compulsive gambling problem cannot control their urges to place any another bet. They gamble on anything from sport events to whether the USD will rise in value against the GBP.

How I do I tell if I have a compulsive gambling problem?

According to the DSM – 5, individual showing four or more of the following symptoms in a 12- month period is likely to have this addiction;

  • Needs to gamble with increasing amounts of money in order to achieve the desired excitement.
  • Is restless or irritable when attempting to cut down or stop gambling
  • Has made repeated unsuccessful efforts to control, cut back , or stop gambling
  • Is often preoccupied with gambling.
  • Often gambles when feeling distressed (e.g. depressed, anxiety, helpless, guilty)
  • After losing money, returns to “chase” one’s losses
  • Lost significant relationship due to gambling
  • Lies to conceal the extent of involvement in gambling
  • Relies on others for money to relieve financial stress

Who is at Risk?

Expert believe that some people have a greater chance to have gambling addiction. They include;

  • Mental health problem. Individual suffering from depression, anxiety, obsessive compulsive behavior OCD and ADHD are more likely to develop this addiction.
  • Age; men are more likely than women to develop a compulsive gambling problem. And children who start gambling at an early age are likely to develop this addiction latter in their adult life.
  • History of substance or alcohol abuse
  • Early big win

When to get help

Seek professional help when the addiction escalate. Your psychologist may combine a combination of medication and cognitive behavioral therapy as part of your treatment program to recover. However, overcoming an addiction is not as easy as it sound. It’s the hardest thing you’ll ever try.

And when you start treatments, stay clean, avoid firends who gamble and places where gambling occur. Because relapse is very common in this period.

Thanks for reading.

Author: ayipeh emma

Hey there! I am Ayipeh Emmanuel, a pharmacy student. I write about health, stress and personal growth. Join my community and get the best information to improve every aspect of your health. I hope that the contents you'll find on my blog will help you to do exactly that.

2 thoughts on “Compulsive Gambling”

  1. I will likely share this. I got 5 month away from it. I moved out of Reno. I opened my own business. I just missed the GA meetings in Reno. Some bad mofos at the Reno GA fellowship. Anyway, I am successful, always have been. It was just misplaced with over 200k in gambling losses. Today I only invest in myself and I can’t stop winning. You ever look at the 20 questions of GA? I answer yes to all 20.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment